Roger Boltshauser

Boltshauser Architekten AG, ETH Zurich

After his graduation in 1995, Roger Boltshauser founded his office ‘Boltshauser Architekten AG’ in 1996 in Zurich. In addition to his practice, he was a research assistant at the Institute for the History and Theory of Architecture (gta) from 1996 to 1998 and a teaching assistant at the chair of Peter Märkli at ETH Zurich and EPFL Lausanne from 1997 and 1999. Between 2004 and 2010 he was engaged as a lecturer for design at the University of Applied Sciences Chur (HTW) and between 2005 and 2009 at the master degree course at Anhalt University of Applied Sciences (DIA) and Chur Institute of Architecture (CIA). From 2016 to 2017 he was a guest professor at EPFL Lausanne and from 2017 to 2018 at TU Munich. Since 2018 he is a guest professor at ETH Zurich.

Books such as “A Primer to Space” in collaboration with Aita Flury, “The Rauch House” with Martin Rauch edited by Otto Kapfinger and Axel Simon, as well as “Roger Boltshauser – Transformator” with pictures by Philipp Schaerer concerning an exhibition with the same title in the Architektur Galerie Berlin, amongst other publications since 2007, show the work of Roger Boltshauser. The exhibition “Pisé – Tradition and Potential” created at the EPFL Lausanne, was displayed in the exhibition space of Archizoom at EPFL Lausanne, the library at Sitterwerk St. Gallen, the ‘Ziegeleimuseum’ in Cham and the ‘Baumuster-Centrale’ in Zurich. In 2019 a publication documenting the research results will be published at the publishing house ‘Triest’.

For his work he has been awarded the ‘Fritz Höger Preis für Backstein-Architektur’ (Berlin), the ‘Ernst A. Plischke Preis’ (Vienna), the ‘Das beste Haus’ by the ‘Bund Österreichischer Architekten’ (Vienna), the ‘Fassa Bortolo International Award for Sustainable Architecture’ (Venice) and repeatedly the title ‘best architects’ (Düsseldorf).

All speakers

Jürg Burri

Swiss Embassy in Poland

Michał Olszewski

Deputy Mayor of Warsaw

Marcin Chruśliński

HB Reavis Poland

Artur Jerzy Filip

Faculty of Architecture, Warsaw University of Technology

Marlena Happach

Architecture and Spatial Planning Department in Warsaw City Hall

prof. Jerzy Hausner

Cracow University of Economics

Werner Huber


Agnieszka Kalinowska-Sołtys

APA Wojciechowski Architects, SARP

Jędrzej Kolesiński

Foster + Partners

Monika Konrad

Municipal Office of Town Planning and Development Strategy in the City of Warsaw

prof. Ewa Maria Kuryłowicz

Kuryłowicz & Associates, Warsaw University of Technology

Paweł Wierzbicki

Schindler Polska Sp. z o.o.

Przemo Łukasik


Przemysław Powalacz

Geberit Sp. z o.o.

Maria Saloni-Sadowska

Kuryłowicz & Associates, SARP (Warsaw)

Lukas Schifferle

Swiss Embassy in Poland

Ulrich Schwendimann

Polish-Swiss Chamber of Commerce

prof. Krystyna Solarek

Politechnika Warszawska

Andreas Sonderegger

pool architects Zurich

prof. Jacek Szołtysek

University of Economics in Katowice

Marek Szymański

Franke Polsko Sp. z o.o., Polish-Swiss Chamber of Commerce

Marcin Świetlik

Warsaw Development Planning Office / Society of the Polish Town Planners